40 CFR Part 82 Subpart F; 40 CFR Part 84 (AIM Act)
EPA Section 608 Practice — Universal (Core, Types I–III)
Get ready for what’s next.
Core plus Types I, II, and III. Part 84 lessons are supplemental compliance study, not claimed exam coverage.
200 questions in this track
Exam and product profile
- Exam / general subject
- EPA Section 608 Technician Certification — Universal
- Exam code
- Not verified
- Credential issuer
- EPA-approved certifying organization; EPA approves programs and sets requirements
- Jurisdiction
- national
- Administrator
- EPA-approved certifying organization (provider varies)
- CodeReady references / editions
- 40 CFR Part 82 Subpart F; 40 CFR Part 84 (AIM Act)
- Official exam editions
- 40 CFR Part 82, Subpart F, section 82.161 and Appendix D
- Official references
- EPA public Section 608 Test Topics; not the confidential EPA question bank
- Official bulletin / objectives
- https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-40/chapter-I/subchapter-C/part-82/subpart-F/appendix-Appendix%20D%20to%20Subpart%20F%20of%20Part%2082
- Eligibility summary
- Pass an EPA-approved equipment-specific test administered by an approved program. Universal requires Core and Types I, II and III under closed-book, proctored conditions. No age, education or experience prerequisite verified in the reviewed sources; do not assert that none exists for every provider.
- Eligibility source
- https://www.epa.gov/section608/section-608-technician-certification-requirements
- Components covered (subject scope)
- Core; Type I: small appliances; Type II: medium-, high- and very-high-pressure appliances within section 82.161 scope; Type III: low-pressure appliances
- Components excluded
- Certification testing/card issuance by CodeReady; Provider proctoring and identity checks; Hands-on equipment assessment or workplace competency demonstration; AIM Act/40 CFR Part 84 material as a claimed verified part of the Section 608 exam bank
- Official format
Total questions: 100. Total minutes: Not verified. For A+, each Core is a separate exam, not one combined test.
Core: 25 questions; minutes: Not verified; exam code: Not verified.
Type I: 25 questions; minutes: Not verified; exam code: Not verified.
Type II: 25 questions; minutes: Not verified; exam code: Not verified.
Type III: 25 questions; minutes: Not verified; exam code: Not verified.
Question types: Not verified
Scoring: Appendix D(e) publishes 70% for closed-book Type I/II/III/Universal and 84% for Type I mail-in. A specific 18/25 (72%) per-section rule is not verified from these official sources.
- Last verified (profile research, not a bank accuracy audit)
- 2026-09-19
format.scoring.perSection: Not verified — Neither reviewed regulation states that exact per-section threshold; arithmetic is not provider policy verification.
format.timeMinutes, format.questionTypes: Not verified — Reviewed governing text publishes counts and test conditions but no uniform duration or response format.
notes.typeIOnline: Not verified — EPA lists online/remote providers and Type I mail-in availability but the retrieved list does not specify Type-I-only online policies.
notes.aimAct, componentsExcluded.aimAct: Not verified — Public topics do not identify that coverage; EPA releases the actual bank only to approved certification programs.
Alignment identifies the intended Core + I + II + III scope, not an audit of every CodeReady question or official approval.
Appendix D specifies 25 questions per group / 100 Universal; section 82.161(c) says at least 25 per group. Preserve this wording distinction.
18/25 equals 72% arithmetically, but that does not verify provider policy or establish a federal 72% per-section rule.
HFC/substitute-refrigerant concepts are in EPA's public test topics. Whether current AIM Act/Part 84 requirements are in the confidential bank is not verified. Label those lessons supplemental compliance study, without claiming EPA has officially classified them as supplemental.
Type I mail-in is verified; online/remote certification providers are listed by EPA, but Type-I-specific online/open-book/proctor conditions are not verified here. Universal must remain closed-book/proctored.
No official universal time limit verified. Catalog 90 minutes and Core 40% are practice settings, not the Appendix D exam structure.
Verification sources and scope
Verified: Section 608 Universal is a federal certification administered and issued by EPA-approved programs, not directly issued by a practice site. This review found no separate national exam series code. Confirmed in the cited official source.
Verified: Universal covers Core and Types I/II/III; Appendix D prescribes four groups of 25 (100 total), while section 82.161(c) uses 'at least 25'. The linked regulation is the governing standard, not a provider-specific bulletin. Confirmed in the cited official source.
Verified: Published closed-book passing score is 70%; mail-in Type I is 84%. Confirmed in the cited official source.
Not verified: 18/25 or 72% separately in each section is not verified as an expressly published official rule. Neither reviewed regulation states that exact per-section threshold; arithmetic is not provider policy verification.
Not verified: A uniform time limit and exact item-response format are not verified. Reviewed governing text publishes counts and test conditions but no uniform duration or response format.
Verified: Types II, III and Universal must be closed-book and proctored; Type I mail-in allowed but cannot count toward Universal. Open-book Core cannot count toward Universal. Confirmed in the cited official source.
Not verified: Type-I-specific online examination conditions are not verified. EPA lists online/remote providers and Type I mail-in availability but the retrieved list does not specify Type-I-only online policies.
Verified: Public Core topics include identification of HFCs, relative ozone-depletion potential, substitute refrigerants and venting prohibition. Confirmed in the cited official source.
Not verified: Current AIM Act/Part 84 exam-bank inclusion is not verified. Public topics do not identify that coverage; EPA releases the actual bank only to approved certification programs.
Verified: Editorial product boundary: study questions do not administer approved certification or demonstrate hands-on competence. Intended exam-specific scope is not a bank-quality certification. Confirmed in the cited official source.
Preparing, qualifying, passing, receiving
- Preparing: CodeReady provides independent study materials.
- Qualifying: Meet the issuer’s eligibility, application, experience, and training requirements separately.
- Passing: Complete the required official assessments; a practice percentage is not an official result. OSHA Outreach requires authorized training, not a CodeReady test.
- Receiving: Only the responsible issuer can award the credential or card after its requirements are met. Buying or completing this bank does not confer one.
What you get / what you don’t
What you get: Access to this practice bank, cited explanations, flashcards, browser-local progress, and practice tests. Tests use eligible reviewed items only; test sizes can be smaller than the bank.
What you don’t: A license, certification, OSHA card, exam voucher, authorized training hours, practical assessment, hands-on lab, or official performance-based question simulation. No guaranteed exam result or claim of exhaustive objective coverage.
$39 buys this bank for the operating life of CodeReady. All-access is $79 lifetime or $19/month while subscribed.
Retake-access extension: monthly subscribers may request one free month of continued access after a documented exam attempt within 60 days. Single-bank and lifetime buyers already retain access; this is not an added benefit for them. Terms.